Freight Classification

Logistics Term

What’s Freight Classification?

A freight classification or class is officially identified as a National Motor Freight Classification. It categorizes less-than-container-load (LCL) freight shipments depending on primary characteristics such as density and value. Usually, items fall into one of the 18 classes this standard measure carries. The higher the value of a commodity and the higher the danger potential, the higher the classification. On the other hand, more effortless and lighter goods have a lower classification. That is between 50, the cheapest to 500, the most expensive. For example, 50 to 60 are bricks, 85 to 150 are items such as computers, and 200 to 500 are goods such as ping pong balls.

Qualities of Freight Classification

National Motor Freight Classification (NMFC) is a more straightforward method of evaluating the large quantities of commodities shipped daily within and across states and nations. Secondarily, these commodities are grouped based on their density, handling, liability, and stowability. The four qualities determine the commodity's transportability. Density and value involve the dimensions and weight of the freight, while handling includes the ease or difficulty involved in manipulating the particular item. Additionally, liability evaluates the goods' fragility and perishability while stowability checks for more similar qualities as handling. Finally, freight classification is essential in ensuring a commodity's correct pricing before shipment.

The Essentials to Understanding Freight Shipping

Explore Other Logistics Industry Terms